Tis’ the Season

j0409641.jpgWhen I was in my late high school years I remember the struggle in choosing a career direction.  At that time of my life I was learning about how my career choices would impact my happiness as an adult. The message was, “It is not all about money.” In fact, the message even went further than that. What I actually heard came from a biblical passage that reads, ” . . . . it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.” This passage has very valuable lessons, but as a teenager my mind was “saving the world” rather than making a buck. Thus, I pursued a career choice directed at being an agent of change in the world of education.

As the years have passed and I have matured into adulthood and the “real world,” I have learned and grown in so many ways (I thank the Lord for that). As I learned about life and work and building my “nest egg,” I have come a long ways in realizing that though living a life with a “love of money attitude” isn’t my goal, I have realized that living life “without money” can be a real drag. Not for the materialistic things, as I don’t consider myself very materialistic. But rather in providing for my family in a way that represents balance. For balance, for me, is the key to dealing with many of life’s issues.

As we enter this holiday (Christmas) season, I can’t help but think about the millions of seniors who, though they want to participate in the “giving attitude” during this time of season, many cannot afford to do it. Living on a fixed income with a world that is anything but fixed, is stressful. Like I said, living without money can be a real drag. To be kept from sharing in this season, and giving to those we love, steals a part of our existence. It feels good to give and to show our appreciation for the relationships that we have. For many seniors realize the blessings they have in their relationships. As we grow older, the relationships that we have tend to become more meaningful to us.

During this Christmas season, think about those that you care for and love. If they are seniors who are financially struggling and live in their own home, you may just give them the gift that will bring back the life they have long sought after. A life of financial stability through a reverse mortgage.  Though the quality of life that we have seldom depends on how much money we have in the bank. It often is impacted by how much we can give to those we love.

Explore posts in the same categories: Blogroll, General, Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

