If You Had a Friend . . . .

j04030581What an amazing experience I had today! I often will drop into local professional shops of planners, tax advisors, attorneys, etc., introduce myself and try to get to know someone in the company so that I can develop a professional relationship. Who knows where those contacts go. If I really connect with them, it is great. But most of the time I just leave some information behind for them to read, then reconnect with sometime in the future.

Today I walked into a tax advisors small business. It looked like the kind of place that many local seniors in the community might go to. Just like a small town shop. Tax advisors work with seniors and know about their financial situations. It is my hope that they see a need and pass on my information so that I can help improve their financial situation.

But this place was amazing . . . I walked in and introduced myself and the company that I represent. So far, so good right? Then the man said, “I hate reverse mortgages.” Taken back, I asked, “Oh really . . . what do you know about them?” You know what he said . . . . .  ” I don’t know a thing about them, and I don’t want to  . . .  but God Bless You!” Wow . . .

Now sometimes I’ll ask more questions, but I didn’t want to be a nuissance anymore than I already was (to them). So I just said, “And God Bless You,” and walked out.  I couldn’t help but think . . .  “what if I had the solution to his problem?” What if I held the answer in my hand that would make his life less stressful, and at peace. Financially speaking, when we are stressed, our whole life is a challenge . . . right? And this was a tax advisor.

It is amazing how some people simply don’t want to know the truth. Whether what I have is anything they need is not really the question . . . but to say that you don’t want to know about it when it may be the solution you are looking for is downright amazing. What if he had a close friend that could be helped? What if a neighbor relies on his expertise to help him? We close the door to helping anybody when we refuse to know the truth.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

